skip to main content

Office of Technology

Staff Web Links


Cross-Curricular

Edmodo: http://www.edmodo.com/
Free online classroom portal. Sign up is required. Create classes, assignment uploading tool, individual student grading feature and group work modules.

Khan Academy: http://www.khanacademy.org/

Over 3,200 multi-subject videos

 

New York State Department of Education: http://www.nysed.gov/

New York State Department of Education standards and state testing resources

 

PB Works: http://pbworks.com/

WIKI generator

 

Prezi: http://prezi.com/

Free web-based presentation creator. Sign up is required.

 

Quizlet: http://quizlet.com/

Digital flashcard creator

 

Regents Prep: http://regentsprep.org/

Content review, practice questions and interactives for New York State Regents Exam review

 

RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

Rubric generator. Sign up is required for saving rubrics digitally.

 

SMART EXCHANGE: http://exchange.smarttech.com/#tab=0

Game and lesson smart board template downloads

 

 

Advanced Placement 

AP Central: http://apcentral.collegeboard.com/apc/Controller.jpf

College Board access for audit/grade reports, curriculum guides, professional development and student links

 

 

English 

Son of Citation Machine: http://citationmachine.net/index2.php

MLA, APA and Chicago citation maker

 

Easybib: http://www.easybib.com/

MLA, APA and Chicago citation maker

 

 

Foreign Language

BBC Español: http://www.bbc.co.uk/mundo/

Breaking world news in Spanish

 

CNN Español: http://cnnespanol.cnn.com/

Breaking world news in Spanish

 

 

Mathematics

eMathInstruction: http://www.emathinstruction.com/id2.html

Meets the standards for the current New York State Integrated Algebra II curriculum.  Unit lesson plans are available for download.

 

Illuminations: http://illuminations.nctm.org/

Lesson downloads and games for mathematics grades K-12

 

Jefferson Math Projects: http://www.jmap.org/

Resources by mathematics topic geared towards New York State Regents Exam preparation

 

Math Goodies: http://www.mathgoodies.com/

Interactive lessons, worksheets and homework help for middle school mathematics

 

Math Olympiad: http://www.moems.org/

Math Olympiad enrichment for middle school students

 

Math Playground: http://mathplayground.com/

Math games, word problems and videos for addition, multiplication, algebra and geometry

 

Texas Instruments: http://education.ti.com/studentzone/StudentZoneUS/index.html

Professional handout downloads, student resources and professional development opportunities

 

The Arlington Algebra Project: http://teacherweb.com/NY/Arlington/AlgebraProject/hf0.aspx

Meets the standards for the current New York State Integrated Algebra I curriculum.  Unit lesson plans are available for download.

 

TheMathForum: http://mathforum.org/

Teaching tools for middle school and high school mathematics

 

 

Fine and Performing Arts

Music Theory: http://www.musictheory.net/

Music theory lessons and smartphone/tablet free software downloads

 

 

Social Studies

ABC News: http://abcnews.go.com/

Breaking local, national and world news

 

BBC News: http://www.bbc.com/news/

Breaking world news

 

Bio True Story: http://www.biography.com/ 

Biographies on historical figures and cultural icons.  Content, video streaming and "on this day" feature.

 

CBS News: http://www.cbsnews.com/

Breaking local, national and world news

 

CNN News: http://www.cnn.com/

Breaking national and world news

 

FEFE: http://fefe.arizona.edu/

Lesson plan downloads specifically for economics

 

Google Earth: http://www.google.com/earth/index.html

Explore 3D buildings, imagery, and terrain. Find countries, cities and places.

 

History Channel: http://www.history.com/

Historical content, video streaming, "this day in history" feature and historical games

 

HistoryTeacher.net: http://www.historyteacher.net/

PowerPoint Palooza, useful links and documents for AP American History, AP European History, Global Studies, American History and government

 

How Stuff Works: http://entertainment.howstuffworks.com/hsw-shows/hsw-podcast.htm

Free podcast streaming: "stuff you should know", "stuff you missed in history class" and "brain stuff".  Smartphone/tablet free software download access.

 

Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/index.html

Library database

 

MSNBC: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/

Breaking national and world news

 

Oyez: http://www.oyez.org/

Supreme Court documentation and justice information

 

PBS News Hour: http://www.pbs.org/newshour/

Historical teacher resources and video streaming

 

Pros and Cons: http://www.procon.org/

Promotes critical thinking and presents controversial issues in a nonpartisan format

 

School History, United Kingdom: http://www.schoolhistory.co.uk/

History resources and lesson plans

 

Street Law: http://www.streetlaw.org/en/home

Supreme Court lessons

 

Supreme Court of the United States: http://www.supremecourt.gov/

Supreme Court documentation and justice information

 

United States Department of Labor: http://www.dol.gov/

Bureau of labor statistics

 

 

Special Education and ELL

Snappy Words: http://www.snappywords.com/

Visual dictionary

 

Thinkmap Visual Thesaurus: http://www.visualthesaurus.com/

Visual thesaurus